Gateway
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Gateway

Your Paranormal Site

HomePortalGalleryLatest imagesRegisterLog in

Hauntings

Go down 
AuthorMessage
Admin
Admin
Admin

Number of posts : 724
Registration date : 2008-01-26

Hauntings Empty
PostSubject: Hauntings   Hauntings Icon_minitimeFri Feb 29, 2008 10:23 pm

I am a current student of California Sate University Channel Islands, formerly Camarillo State Mental Hospital. The hospital was established in the late 1930’s and treated many different forms of mental health issues, addictions and cared for the mentally and severally disabled. About one third of the hospital has had interior renovations and is currently being used. When the hospital was fully function it was completely self sufficient, including a working hospital with a morgue and a dairy. This beautiful location was ideal fro creating a new California State school when the hospital closed sometime in 1997.

I once visited the hospital in the early 1990’s while it was still functioning. Now, more then ten years later I have returned to attend school. The history of this location has many curious and egger to explore, this includes myself. The currently unused portions of the old hospital still have electricity and water running through them. Most of the windows and doors to the building are open. There are several no trespassing signs posted every few feet and the abandon buildings have constant police surveillance. Yet many of us have been able to still enter and explore. I worry about sharing this because I fear others will attempt to visit the campus and do some investigating of their own. I encourage further education ones self, but I am adamantly apposed to those who wish to visit to do harm to the buildings. This is an incredibly beautiful old facility that deserves respect and protection. I take great pride in it and do what I can to care for it and educate others.