Gateway
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Gateway

Your Paranormal Site

HomePortalGalleryLatest imagesRegisterLog in

Haunted Movie Theater

Go down 
AuthorMessage
Admin
Admin
Admin

Number of posts : 724
Registration date : 2008-01-26

Haunted Movie Theater Empty
PostSubject: Haunted Movie Theater   Haunted Movie Theater Icon_minitimeFri Feb 29, 2008 10:25 pm

I lived in San Francisco for 4 years in the mid ‘80s. I worked as a theatre manager for a couple years at the ‘Regency I Theater’ located on Van Ness.

It is no longer a theater and is now vacant. I was told some history of the building, that it was once a dance hall in the late 1800’s among other things. The building was 5 stories, and had been renovated to become a movie house. There were two floors under the main floor and two floors above. The 1st basement floor was a huge lounge bar area, dark, dusty and cluttered and below that floor was an old huge kitchen area where the electrical room is located also dark. There was no lighting, the ushers used their mag lights when the had to be down there. The floors above the main floor were old dressing rooms and odd shaped rooms. The odd shaped rooms seemed to be rooms that after the renovations became unusable, except for storage. They were too small for a person to stand upright or sloped. Also, there was a grand marbled staircase in the main lobby that came to a dead end at the top.

My first day of training, I was sitting in the office with another manager and she was showing me the daily paperwork. I began to hear stomping and tapping on the ceiling, but in a rhythm, kind of like line dancing or a chorus line dancing right above me. I jokingly asked if there was a dance studio above us, and the answer made me laugh…"it’s the ghosts". I was the new girl, I left it at that.? Also, I should add, I'm a believer in ghosts because of past experiences as a child.